RSS Feed

Freedom, oh Freedom!

(courtesy of englishwithjo.com)

I just dropped the Bean off at Daycare for the very first time and then took a very deep breath.  She watched me leave without any anxiety, and I knew this was going to be awesome.

I was a little concerned about bringing her to daycare this morning because she was extremely cranky and had been coughing in the night.  Nothing I could do would console her.  However, when Daddy got a hold of her, she calmed right down, so I decided the problem had to be me.  I woke up feeling pretty crappy this morning, myself.  The Bean had me up twice, and then when I pulled her into bed with us at 4:30 I didn’t sleep very soundly for the next hour and a half.  I’m pretty sure I’m PMSing, and I suspect that the Bean can sense when I’m hormonal and reflects it back to me.  So, for my own sanity, and for hers, off we went to daycare.

My plan is this:

  1. Finish this blog post (15 minutes)
  2. Clean the kitchen (45 minutes)
  3. Sweep the floors (45 minutes)
  4. Shower (10 minutes)
  5. Go get a mani/pedi as a reward for all my hard work.

The Bean will be so tired from her morning of hardcore playing that she’ll fall asleep in the stroller on the way home, and then I can nap too.   That’s the plan, anyway.  I have a feeling I’m going to LOVE Mondays.

About Bethany Seto

I am a first-time blogger and a Stay-at-Home mom. I live in the San Francisco Bay Area with my husband and daughter.

3 responses »

  1. Congratulations Beth. I am so glad that you are over the “first day” hump. Now you can look forward to the “second day” hump or just realize that you are a great mom and keep taking those deep breaths. I love this quote: “Sometimes the most important thing in a whole day is the rest we take between two deep breaths.” — Etty Hillesum

    Reply
  2. I’ll sure be interested in hearing how the first day went.

    Reply
  3. The first day went great. I didn’t get as much done as I was hoping to in the morning. I realized that if I spent the full four hours trying to fill every minute, part of the purpose of sending her to daycare would be lost, which is to give me a break. So instead of rushing around, I chose the most urgent chore, and then also chose an errand that I really wanted to do.

    The Bean had a wonderful time at daycare. She ate her carrots like a good girl at lunch, and played well with the other kids. She powered through her usual naptime and knocked out in the stroller on the way home. She woke up an hour into her nap and then fell asleep on my shoulder when I picked her up, but then wouldn’t settle back into her crib, so I held her for two more hours while she slept. I got to finish my book, so it wasn’t bad, but I would have liked a nap. We’ll figure it out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

